Archive for May, 2010

PVT ‘Window’ from ‘Church With No Magic’ LP on Warp Records

Australian three-piece Pivot released their electro-acoustic magnum opus ‘O Soundtrack My Heart’ in 2008, and the long anticipated follow-up album (entitled ‘Church With No Magic‘) is due for release in July this year. Forced to change their moniker meanwhile due to a legal challenge from an American band of the same name, newly named PVT have released the video to first single ‘Window’ (directed by Clemens Habicht, and shot from first person perspective):

Featuring strong vocals from Richard Pike, the song is a striking sample of the band’s second Warp Records release.

Full ‘Church With No Magic’ Tracklist:

01. Community
02. Light Up Bright Fires
03. Church With No Magic
04. Crimson Swan
05. Window
06. The Quick Mile
07. Waves & Radiation
08. Circle Of Friends
09. Timeless
10. Only The Wind Can Hear You


Flying Lotus – Cosmogramma LP + Heave (n) Bonus Track

Breaking & Entering favourite Steven Ellison (aka Flying Lotus) released his Cosmogramma LP on Warp May 1st.  Featuring collaborations with Laura Darlington, Thundercat, Thom Yorke and others, and incorporating elements of hip hop, boogie, electro, orchestral, and soul music styles, Cosmogramma is a genre transcending masterpiece that consolidates Flying Lotus’ position as one of the leaders of the new guard of producers.

In constructing the final tracklist however, Flying Lotus apparently forgot to include this song, which he kindly forwarded via Twitter this week (with accompanying video):

Flying Lotus – Heave (n)

Playlist (May 24th, 2010)

‘Franklin’ – Male Bonding

‘Splash’ – Jeremy Jay

‘Gay human bones’ – Harlem

‘Think about’ – Grooveman Spot

‘They don’t want’ – Electric Wire Hustle

‘Embrace the chill’ – Swede:art

‘Gone baby, don’t be long’ – Erykah Badu

‘Stop the party’ – Busta Rhymes ft Swizz Beats

‘Beginners falafel’ – Flying Lotus

‘And the world laughs with you’ – Flying Lotus ft Thom Yorke

‘Pretend tough’ – Faux Pas

‘No regrets’ – Eric Lau

‘Violent dreams’ -Crystal Castles

‘Pyramidal 3000’ – Monkey Sequence

‘N’ah mean’ – Damian Marley and Nas

‘Tightly closed’ – Kavsrave

‘Infinity guitars’ – Sleigh Bells

‘Chain reaction’ – Brian Bennett

‘Kaili’ – Caribou

‘Vital signs’ – Midnight Juggernauts (Tame Impala)

Our chat with Kevin and Jay from Tame Impala/Pond pt 1

‘Why won’t you make up your mind’ – Tame Impala

Tame Impala interview pt 2

‘It is not meant to be’ – Tame Impala

‘Unknown’ – Erca

‘Edit niaf’ – PSS

‘Neuralgia’ – Grooveman Spot

‘Untitled 4’ – Fabulous Diamonds

‘Beginning and the end’ – Circle Pit

‘CMYK’ – James Blake

‘Understanding’ – Eric Lau

6.30pm – 7pm: Cloud Control LIVE set from the Triple R Performance Space.

Mount Kimbie ‘Crooks & Lovers’ Album Details

For those who’ve  been following the innovative and inventive output of London duo Mount Kimbie, the announcement of their forthcoming full-length Crooks & Lovers on Hotflush Recording is very welcome news indeed!

Filling their music with experimental electronic-acoustic textures, dubstep, and post-dubstep influences, Mount Kimbie (aka Dominic Maker and Kai Campos) are consistently redefining the sound of modern urban music.

Artist: Mount Kimbie
Album: Crooks & Lovers
Release Date: July 19
Label: Hotflush Recordings


01 Tunnelvision
02 Would Know
03 Before I Move Off
04 Blind Night Errand
05 Adriatic
06 Ruby
07 Carbonated
08 Ode to Bear
09 Field
10 Mayor
11 Between Time

The track Field is currently streaming at Resident Advisor here.

New Panda Bear single ‘Tomboy’ in July

From Amazon:

“Paw Tracks is excited to present the first in a series of limited edition seven inch singles by Animal Collective’s Panda Bear. There will be several limited singles total (on different labels), and each one will bring us closer and closer to the much anticipated release of the Tomboy full length.”

Expected for release on July 13th, the single ‘Tomboy’ will also feature ‘Slow Motion’ on the B-Side.

The 7″ single is available for pre-order here.

Program Highlights for Monday May 24th – Tame Impala interview and Cloud Control Live!

Tune in to hear our chat with Perth boys Tame Impala about their long awaited debut record ‘Innerspeaker’ (believe us, it’s been worth the wait!)

You’ll also hear a very special Live to Air performance during our program from Cloud Control LIVE from the Triple R Performance Space! They’ll be playing tracks from their debut record ‘Bliss Release’, which just happens to be our album of the week this week at Triple R!

Jamie XX Mix for Collette

For those who’ve heard Shakira’s version of ‘Islands’ by The XX (renamed Explore) and are trying hard to forget they ever did, maybe take this new mix by Jamie XX for Collette as an audio remedy.

Download here

(via Abeano Music)

Purchase here


Electrelane : I Only Always Think
The Streets : Streets Score
The XX : Crystalised (DarkSky Remix)
Silentone : Beat For
Rossi B & Luca : Jah No Dead
Clubroot : Lucid Dream
Darkstar : Aidy’s Girl Is a Computer
Burial : Unite
Fantastic Mr Fox & Rich Reason : Lo-Fi-Ve
Joy Orbison : Hyph Mngo
Skream : Trapped In a Dark Bubble
Silentone : DUB PLATE 1
Aardvarck : One1
James Blake : Sparing The Horse
Boogaloo Crew : Hedgehog Sound
Zomby : Expert Tuition
Deadboy : Heartbreaker
Bad Autopsy : Psionic Terror
Cooly G : Narst
zed bias : To the left (test)
MJ Cole feat. Serocee : AO (MJ’s Open Your Gob Dubb)
DJ Champion: Motherboard
Bertrand Dupart : Ketokole (Boddhi Satva Ancestrial Mix) Fantastic Mr Fox : Plimsoul
Emvee : Glitch Dub
Dorian Concept : Trilingual Dance Sexperience
Silentone : You’ve Got No Love (Feat. Nigh)
Egypt : In The Morning (Original Club Mix)