Archive for June, 2010

Playlist – June 28th, 2010

‘Wishwanderer’ – Vashti Bunyan

‘In The Morning’ – First Aid Kit

‘All To All’ – Broken Social Scene

‘Lonely Lonely (Frisbee’d Mix)’ – Feist

‘And The World Laughs With You’ – Flying Lotus ft. Thom Yorke

‘Celestica (Thurston Moore Remix)’ – Crystal Castles

‘Right On’ – The Roots ft. Joanna Newsom

‘See Birds’ – Balam Acab

‘Tremel (Jamie xx Remix)’ – Glasser

‘Mild Confusion’ – Tamaryn

‘She’s Lost Control’ – Joy Division

‘Shabaps’ – Pursuit Groove

‘Jellybean’ – Secret Colours

‘Desert Fun’ – The Mayfair Set

‘Down To You’ – Grooveman Spot ft. Muhsinah

‘I Miss You (Dobie Remix)’ – Bjork

‘Magic Says’ – Dabrye

‘Raw’ – Jaylib ft. Talib Kweli

‘Really Days’ – Madlib

‘Cold Freezing Night’ – The Books

‘General Patton’ – Big Boi

‘Another World’ – Chemical Brothers

‘Four Deck Set (Extract)’ – Amon Tobin

‘Timeless’ – PVT

‘War (Is On Your Doorstep)’ – Danny & The Parkins Sisters

‘Snapdragon’ – Hudson Mohawke

‘Close To Me’ – Teams vs Starslinger

‘Life of a Lover’ – Theophilus London

‘Live In Dreams’ – Wild Nothing

‘Trusss’ – Matthewdavid

‘Get Frostied’ – Deastro

‘Moment In Blue (FaltyDL Remix)’ – Ital Tek

‘Put Chur Hand Up’ – fLako & Berghem

‘Stop Breaking Down’ – The White Stripes

‘Golden Town’ – Super Wild Horses

‘Untitled Track 4 (from Fabulous Diamonds II)’ – Fabulous Diamonds

‘Love’ – Super Wild Horses

‘Post Acid’ – Wavves

‘Slychain’ – Hermitude

‘One Two’ – Africa Hitech

‘Flying Kites’ – Cool Kids

‘Executive Brass’ – Curren$y & Fiend


Radiohead Readying New Album

According to an interview conducted this week by Radiohead Guitarist Ed O’Brien with BBC 6Music,  the band are in the midst of finishing work on their latest LP, and will hopefully release it before the end of the year.

A partial transcript of the interview can be read here at Ateaseweb.

Download: Matthewdavid – ‘Trusss’

The founder of Leaving Records, Matthewdavid is also a talented producer specialising in fractured beatscapes and analogue ambience. Following from his recent split 10″ release with fellow LA resident Take on the All City Records label, Matthewdavid’s ‘Trusss’  is a slightly more mellow slow motion disco funk track, with fragmented vocal samples.

Download: Matthewdavid – Trusss (via Friendship Bracelet)

Playlist (June 21st, 2010)

‘Solitude Is Bliss (Canyons Remix)’ – Tame Impala

‘This Girl (Canyons Remix)’ – Tortoiseshell

‘In To It’ – The Hundred In The Hands

‘Put Chur Hand Up’ – fLako & Berghem

‘Timeless’ – PVT (formerly Pivot)

‘You Know Too Much’ – MBT

‘Deiyo Deiyo’ – The Hykkers

‘A Go Go’ – Dara Puspita (Flower Girls)

‘Amplify’ – Steve Spacek presents Black Pocket

‘Fall In Love’ – Erykah Badu

‘Splitting The Atom’ – Massive Attack

‘Drunk Girls (LCD Soundsystem cover)’ – Wooden Shjips

‘Born Free (High Contrast Remix)’ – M.I.A.

‘Mild Confusion’ – Tamaryn

‘Oh Sookie’ – Snoop Dogg

‘Held In The Hand’ – Mayer Hawthorne

‘Mind Movies’ – Daniel Johnston

‘Elegant Elephant’ – Broadcast

‘Untitled Track 3 (taken from Fabulous Diamonds II) – Fabulous Diamonds

‘Fantasy in Public’ – Crumbs

‘Cable Vamp’ – Comfort Fit

‘Close To Me’ – Teams vs Starslinger

‘That What It Is!’ – Andres

‘Kowboys + Indians’ – Gonjasufi

‘A Town Called Obsolete (Mount Kimbie Remix)’ – Andreya Triana

‘Jellybean’ – Secret Colours

‘Spanish Sahara (Deadboy Remix)’ – Foals

‘Walk On’ – Electric Wire Hustle ft. Stacy Epps

‘Got To Forget’ – Andrea

Four Deck Set (Extract)’ – Amon Tobin

‘Move (Sa Ra Remix)’ – 50 Cent

‘Everybody’s Doing It’ – Black Lips

‘Snap Dragon’ – Hudson Mohawke

‘MCs Can Kiss’ – Uffie

‘Fear Of Us’ – Andres

‘A Stranger’s Heart’ – Theophilus London

‘Before You Judge Me’ – Black Lips

‘Got To Forget’ – Andrea

‘Mind The World’ – Paul White

‘Hibernation’ – Here We Go Magic

‘Celestica (Thurston Moore Remix)’ – Crystal Castles

‘Blue Blood Blues’ – The Dead Weather

Snoop Dogg – A Bon Pimp In Bon Temps


Snoop Dogg offers an ode to his favourite character from True Blood.

Download new Amon Tobin set (featuring new Two Fingers Material):

Consistently mapping new territory in all areas of the audio universe,  Amon Tobin again reveals new sonic terrain on his latest downloadable DJ Set.

Recorded live on 4 Decks in Seattle in 2009 (direct from the mixing board in high-quality), the set features a preview of ‘Sweden’ from the upcoming new Two Fingers album, as well as reworked older Amon Tobin material and an inimitable mix of other bass music styles (covering everything from d’n’b, tech, and hip hop, through to future urban sounds yet to be categorised).

Download the 74 minute set here:

Dave Sitek’s New Solo Project – Maximum Balloon

Photo by Nick Walker

While TV On The Radio might unfortunately still be on hiatus, producer Dave Sitek has announced details of a solo project, to be released with the title ‘Maximum Balloon’ sometime in August this year.

The album will feature guest contributions from Karen O (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone (TV On The Radio), Yukimi Nagano (Little Dragon), Theophilus London, and Holly Miranda. It follows from production work that Dave Sitek has recently performed for Holly Miranda and Telepathe.

According to Dave the album is primarily a dance record, designed for dancing.

The lead single ‘Tiger’ can be downloaded now at:

You can follow Maximum Balloon on Twitter here: